CAR ACCIDENT ATTORNEY SERVING HOUSTON AND SUGAR LAND, TEXAS
Like personal injuries that can occur anywhere, injuries related to car accidents happen because drivers choose not to pay heed to traffic laws in place for a reason. That reason should be obvious to everyone: we all deserve to be safe, especially when we operate heavy machinery that can cause serious damage.
Houston Traffic Accidents By the Number
The greater Houston areas is a sprawling metropolitan area, growing and evolving by the day, and with this increasing complexity comes a high number of traffic accidents. In fact, did you know the number of traffic accidents in the area has grown by at least 7% since 2012? Here are a few Houston stats at a glance. In 2016,
713 died due to traffic accidents
20,025 were seriously injured after a crash
1,944 crashes involving pedestrians occurred
874 crashes involving bicycles occurred
The point is, Houston streets aren't getting that much safer, and it's important now more than ever to hold people accountable for their negligence on the road. In the wake of potentially catastrophic injuries such as disability, loss of bodily function, or even death, the best we can do is avidly seek out the damages that may or may not even come close to making things right again.
Texas Car Accident Laws to Keep in Mind
It's true that each case is different, but you should certainly keep in mind a few state-specific factors regarding your personal injury claim and insurance. When it comes to the Lone Star State, here are the important laws to know about:
Time Limits to File a Claim. In Texas, you must follow the statute of limitations for filing claims against drowsy, distracted, and drunk drivers. According to the statue, you have two years to file since the accident or two years since you discovered the injury resulting from the accident. In the case that you were injured by a government vehicle, you have only 60-90 days to file.
Insurance Requirements. Since insurance companies in Texas determine fault in accidents before providing coverage, it's required that drivers have a minimum coverage of $30,000 per person for injury and $60,000 per accident for injury.
Comparative Fault Rules. Texas courts may decide that the fault of an auto accident can be shared among drivers. For example, if your tail light is out during the time of the accident, you may be responsible for a portion of the accident. As long as you think you're responsible for at least less than 50% of the accident, then you have a valid chance of getting a preferable outcome for your case.
If you're suffering from a personal injury following a car accident, reach out to us for a free consultation. You don't want to go through this alone.
DEDICATED CAR ACCIDENT REPRESENTATION IN HOUSTON, TX
When it comes to keeping the roads as safe as they can be, we all have a part to play. Unfortunately, Houston streets aren’t getting any safer, but it’s important to hold people accountable for their negligence. If you’re experiencing an injury after a car accident, then don’t waste any time contacting us for a free consultation. We’re only here to help.